Owl Ladies (And Some Chicken Ones)

So today I was very much looking forward to my visit to the library. For one thing I didn’t have to be there until 1:00 and for another..the owl lady was coming today! 😀

When I went to the basement of the library I was one of the first to arrive. And immediately greeted with a loud ‘hoot’ from the right corner of the room,  inside a cage half draped in a blanket. To my surprise there were four other crates close by. I was only expecting one feathered friend to make an appearance.

I spoke a bit with the owl lady before she introduced me to the four birds she’d brought with. One was a small barn owl, one was a tawny owl, and the other two looked like you’d see them in some classic Halloween movie. Either way they were incredibly impressive creatures. The owl woman informed me of the proper way to handle the birds, and that they were trained to fly to only two locations, a tree branch perch or a leather glove she wore. They’re rewarded with what looked like scraps of meat. I didn’t really care to know exactly what kind.
Soon enough guests began to arrive, parents and grandparents bringing children, ages ranging from newborns to five year olds. I was stunned expecting older kids to be in attendance, not so many toddlers or younger who were crawling around on the floor.
The kids were completely hyped and excited  which was adorable. I took a seat next to Alexandra, an older librarian who told me many times over, she’d be okay near the owls so long as they didn’t fly within ten feet of her.

I had similar feelings, and no intention of trying on the glove that’d allow a huge bird of prey’s talons to linger on my arm. I happen to like my arm. However, when children smaller than the owls themselves were graciously letting them land near them, I felt compelled to as well and am glad I did. It was a very cool moment, I highly recomend it.
The day was short but very fun and memorable. And I got a picture too!

Image

About LittleMissAbroad

This is a blog detailing my internship and experience while studying abroad. First posted to Blackboard, now posted here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

